Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Kowa TSN 883 25-60x88 Angled Spotting Scope Package

From Andrew H. in Lake MacBride, IA:

5/5 Rating

Awesome setup!

I have been considering a spotting scope setup for a few years.  I received my Kowa TSN 883 25-60x88 Angled Spotting Scope Package several weeks ago, and I can give it a glowing review.  

The optics are beautifully clear; the focus controls easy to use; the entire scope just feels first-rate.  

I bought the and Manfrotto tripod legs that Eagle Optics recommended, and it's a great combo - light and easily adjustable.  I also have the Kowa TSN IP4S iPhone 4/4S Digiscoping Bracket which has been really fun to use.
 

Overall I can't imagine being much more pleased with this purchase.

Monday, April 14, 2014

Kowa TSN 883 Angled 88mm Prominar Spotting Scope

From Andrew B. in Kansas:

5/5 Rating

Unreal!


First off, Eagle Optics - prompt, quick to respond to questions, great to deal with.  Will do business with again.

My new is the first high-end scope I have ever purchased--so take this review with a grain of salt, but  "Wow!" is all I can say.  Bright, vibrant, sharp, no distortion.  Field is huge when teamed with the wide-angle eyepiece. 

I was previously unable to ID birds in the center of my local lake.  Now, under most conditions I can confidently make the ID.  Focus is intuitive and easy.  When you get out to 60x, the image does start to darken, but under typical lighting it is not an issue. 

Scope is a bit heavy, but comparing to past versions, across the board it is lighter.  The soft protective case is well crafted and a perfect fit. A must to protect an investment like this.

I would purchase this again and look forward to many great finds using this tool.

Friday, April 11, 2014

Kite Skua Leica Televid 77 Angled Spotting Scope Case

From Steve W. in Salisbury, MA:

5/5 Rating

Fits like a glove


I am very impressed with the Kite Skua Leica Televid 77 Angled Spotting Scope Case. I'm finally replacing my 15-year old Leica scope case (the classic green one) and this turns out to be a pretty nice upgrade.  

First of all, it fits like a glove - better than the original - and it is actually a tad lighter.  It is easier to open up in the field and I feel like I have more protection from banging around in the back of the car.  And it looks really cool!  

Since it seems like this scope is going to last forever, I feel that this case is a pretty sound investment.

Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Vortex Razor HD 20-60x85 Angled Spotting Scope

From Kim S. in Michigan:

5/5  Rating

Thrilled beyond belief with this scope

Maybe it's because we just upgraded to this from a "starter scope" that cost $500, but I cannot believe how much more enjoyment I'm getting out of viewing ducks on the lake with the Vortex Razor HD 20-60x85 Angled Spotting Scope

I don't know much about technical specs of glass and so on, I just know that I'm seeing everything much more clearly and brightly than before. 

It's made all the difference in the world to my experience!

Monday, April 7, 2014

Vortex Viper HD 6x32 Binocular

From Elias Z. in CA:

5/5 Rating  

A Best in Class binocular!


I'm a big fan of 6x binoculars; they've been my favorites for a long time. I have an Eagle Optics Platinum Ranger 6x32 and I love it. The Vortex Viper HD 6x32 is quite a bit more expensive, but I was intrigued enough to get it. Sure enough, it lived up to the billing on the Eagle Optics website and then more.

It has much, much less CA (chromatic aberration, the bluish and purple tinging at the edges of objects that shows up in many binoculars) than the Platinum Ranger; it's much more rugged and generally a much higher build quality. When you hold it, it exudes fine craftsmanship and quality. It even compares well against my son's Zeiss Victory 8x32 FL, being just as bright and having very nearly the CA levels of the $2000 Zeiss.

Before you dismiss this bino as "only 6x," give it a chance. The 6x still brings you remarkably close, and gives you a much steadier, much brighter, and larger field of view. (I can often keep up with close birds even while they're in flight with this bino, something that my birdwatching pals usually can't do with their 8x and 10x binos.) The 6x also gives you a super-bright exit pupil helping you ID those wood warblers in the shady parts of trees.

At $550 this binocular gives you very nearly the same views as $2000 "alpha" (Zeiss/Swarovski/Leica). It's easily one of the best bargains around.

Very highly recommended. 

Friday, April 4, 2014

Eagle Optics Ranger 8x32 Binocular

From Pam B. in Tucson, AZ:

5/5 Rting

The Versatile Ranger 8x32 Binoculars 


I purchased my Eagle Optics Ranger 8x32 binoculars as a second, more compact pair for a trip to Guatemala to visit our daughter serving in the Peace Corps.

I found myself carrying them everywhere, even after my return home. Everywhere includes my resource classroom at the local elementary school. The Ranger binoculars are rugged and light enough that even the kindergarten students can use them with ease, and sharp enough that they are my "go to" binoculars for bird watching.

With feeders outside the classroom windows and bird books on the shelf, I've incorporated my love of birds into my lesson plans. My Eagle Optics binoculars are the perfect incentive - the students can't wait to use them! I wish I had a classroom set :-)

From the mountains of Guatemala to the school playground, these bins are the best!


Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Pentax Papilio 8.5x21 Binocular

From Connie C. in Weslaco, TX:

5/5 Rating

Close-up views

After seeing a few people with the Pentax Papilio 8.5x21 Binocular at our butterfly walks at Estero Llano Grande State Park, I decided to get a pair.  WOW, is about all I can say. 

I should have purchased these a few years ago.  Anyone that wants real close up views of butterflies and bugs, you should have these bins. 

Thanks, Pentax, and Eagle Optics for another great product.

Monday, March 31, 2014

Vortex Raptor 6.5x32 Binocular

From Dean S. in Angora, MN:

5/5 Rating

Great children's binocular


I bought this Vortex Raptor 6.5x32 Binocular to keep around the house for my grandchildren. After getting them I find myself keeping them on the table near my bird feeders.

The clarity and color resolution are surprising for an inexpensive binocular. and the wide field of view is great for the girls as they can locate birds with ease. The kids love them when they can get them away from Grandpa!

For a first pair of children's glasses I would highly endorse the Raptor 6.5x32. Thanks again to Eagle Optics for their excellent products and service.