Monday, February 1, 2016

Eagle Optics Ranger ED 8x42 Binocular

From Lorna in California:

5/5 Rating

Great customer service, quality, and price


I am very pleased with the  that I purchased from you. Although I originally got them as a gift for my son, I liked them so much that I decided to keep them for myself and ordered a second pair for him!

These binoculars are great for birding, bringing in lots of light. I like how the protective covers for both the ocular and objective lenses are attached to the binoculars so they will not be lost, as was the case with my previous binoculars.

I am also very pleased with the ease with which the eyecup twists to accommodate a viewer wearing or not wearing glasses. In fact, I called Eagle Optics customer service and spoke to Mike who gave me very helpful advise concerning recommended binoculars for eyeglass wearers.

In addition, the shipping was free, the price was right, and the protection plan is an added bonus.
 

Friday, January 29, 2016

Leica Ultravid HD-PLUS 7x42 Binocular

From Beth in New Jersey:

5/5 Rating

Wonderful!


I was a little concerned about the lower power after using 8x for several years. However, there are nice benefits to 7x42 such as larger exit pupil (6mm), better depth of field, wider true field of view and slightly longer eye relief.  

The  works really well with my eyeglasses and there's no fuss aligning the image to my eyes due to the big exit pupil. Also, I noticed right away there is just a little less shake to the image (compared to 8x) which provides a calmer view.  

The typical Leica colors and pop to the image are still there along with a bit more brightness.  The image is wonderful with virtually no chromatic aberration; totally absent in the center of the view and visible only on the edges, but very minor/subtle and essentially not noticeable when bird watching; the image is overall clean and sharp.  

It’s an expensive binocular but one that is built to last and has a very nice feel. The mechanics, fit, and finish of the UV+ are real nice reflecting high quality.  Now I don’t think I could go back to 8x42 after experiencing such a nice comfortable view with 7x42.  

The  is the best binocular I’ve used with eyeglasses and overall best quality.  

Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Atlas Optics Radian 10x42 Binocular

From Rose. F. in Dayton, VA:

5/5 Rating

Very pleased!


I ordered the   a few weeks ago.  My partner was a little skeptical, because he said you can't get a good pair of binoculars for under $300.  However, we were both pleasantly surprised to find they are easy to focus and comfortable to wear.  

I was so happy to have the binoculars on hand for bird watching when we had a 2-foot snow storm last week!  The red-bellied woodpecker, nuthatch, and purple finch are more beautiful than I realized when using my old binoculars.  I couldn't be more pleased!  


Friday, January 8, 2016

Eagle Optics Kingbird 6.5x32 Binocular

From Edward V. in Norfolk, VA:

5/5 Rating

Excellent choice

I selected this  as a gift for a nine-year old beginning bird watcher and thought that their combination of optical quality, magnification, light-gathering, field of view, and light weight  -  plus their overall fine workmanship -  made them ideal, and that they would serve her well through her beginning years in the hobby and beyond.

The accessories and very reasonable price were added bonuses.  They are proving to be an excellent choice - outstanding optical quality and easy for her to use; her parents are enjoying them, too!


ALSO ...  Kudos to your firm.  I asked questions about the binoculars via email and received a prompt reply with very helpful information.  Packing and shipping were fast and the binoculars reached New Hampshire quickly and well before Christmas.


Wednesday, January 6, 2016

Ultra-Light Binocular Harness (Black)

From Wayne in Chicago:

5/5 Rating

Ideal!


I have to admit, I had some trepidation about this  before I bought two of them. Why?  They are very thin, and I thought they would not provide the padding that I am familiar with in traditional harnesses and straps. 

Well, my fears were unfounded.  They are amazing.  They are so lightweight as to be unnoticeable, even when wearing for prolonged periods. I even tried them with just my t-shirt, not a padded jacket, around the house for two hours (it;s wintertime, so not outdoors), and no pain, cutting neck, etc.  


The key is the instant adjustability with the slip toggle in the back.  Instantly can change from neck strap to bandolier-style to traditional harness. Instantly change if adding a jacket or extra thickness beneath them.  Instantly change if loaning binoculars to a different sized person.  

Sure, sometimes I ask the person behind me to adjust rather than taking them off to adjust myself, but it's not an issue (so much easier than a traditional rather fussy harness). I especially like that I can loop the tether over the objective lenses for a very tight fit against my chest when I need to (e.g. hiking steep hand-over-hand rocks).  I discovered all of this from the Rick Young videos online (search your favorite video channel).  And the price at EO is better than the native site itself! Thanks!



Saturday, December 19, 2015

Leica Ultravid HD-PLUS 7x42 Binocular

From Chuck in Glencoe, IL:

5.5 Rating

For those that like superb color rendition


I love this .  Any lens has its own characteristics, and what I like about Leica lenses is the gorgeous color rendition, along with superb clarity.  

I prefer this to other high-end lens designs that opt for additional sharpness, but at the loss of reality of sorts, such as a very flat field of view.  It's strictly personal preference.  

The 7x magnification offers too many benefits over the 8x magnification, at least for my uses.  The build quality is high and the binoculars feel good in the hands.  Very happy with this !


Thursday, December 17, 2015

Vortex Razor HD 20-60x85 Angled Spotting Scope

From Mitchel Y. in San Francisco:

5/5 Rating

A leap of faith


This  is my first scope (and likely my last). I did not want to spend ~$800 and feel like I needed to upgrade in a couple of years-- yet I knew I was not going to spend >$2000 now or in the foreseeable future.

I read a number of reviews, almost all of which were folks upgrading their scope. As usual, the team @ Eagle Optics were great and helped me suss out a few more particulars.

So, I waited until I could use my new  in the field several times before writing this review & I couldn't be happier. I've found it easy to use, provides a bright clear image & I feel is a great value. I'm not an optics guru, nor do I have great experience using scopes.

My birding preference is a pair of binoculars and a walk in the woods, but there are times a scope is almost required and I feel I have one that will fill my needs for years to come.

Monday, November 9, 2015

Zeiss Conquest HD 10x32 Binocular

From Upper New York State customer:

5/5 Rating

An excellent choice


I bought a pair of Zeiss 8x20 binoculars from Eagle Optics many years ago and have used them while traveling, hiking, and backpacking with great pleasure. They are terrific. I wanted to add a 10-power binocular for birdwatching, hiking, and general use. After looking at current binocular prices and thinking about the Zeiss Conquest 10x42s, I eventually decided on the 

The  have a slightly larger field of view than the 10x42s, weigh less, and for hiking that, and their compact size, is important. They are rugged and easy to focus and use.They also have a very good close-focus distance, better than almost all other binoculars in their class. 

I've now used them in good and bad weather for about a month and am very satisfied. They deliver crisp, clear images in all sorts of lighting conditions, and they are less expensive than comparable high-quality binoculars by excellent manufacturers. 

My 8x20s are wonderful for their size, weight, and price, but these are better. Although they don't gather as much light as the 10x42s, I have never been disappointed by what I was able to see. If you want a reasonably priced, really good binocular for serious use in all sorts of conditions where size, weight, and ease of use are important, these Zeiss 10x32s are an excellent choice.