Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 Binocular

From JoAnn C. in Lewisburg, PA:

5/5 Rating

Awesome 1st pair of quality binoculars!


I spent a lot of time researching various brands of binoculars.

One of the main reasons I chose Eagle Optics was because of the excellent customer service I received when calling for guidance in choosing the right binocular for me based on my intended use and price point. The customer service rep was incredibly knowledgeable about the Eagle brand as well as assisting me in comparing them to other brands. I was very impressed!

The lifetime warranty also made it easy to choose Eagle Optics!  My new arrived promptly and I've enjoyed them every day since. The view is crystal clear with ample light for birding (well...mostly "squirreling") at my backyard feeder and on the trail. The neck strap is incredibly comfortable I think in part due to the flexibility of the material. The center focus knob is very easy to turn.

I definitely made the right choice.

Monday, October 6, 2014

Vanguard Abeo 283CV Carbon Tripod Kit

From John in Florida:

5/5 Rating

Sturdy


This is well-suited for using any spotting scope in the field.

It's comfortable to carry and light to pack, strong enough to mount the big scopes without excessive vibration, tall enough for someone 6'4" using a straight scope, and fast to set up and take down. The pan head operates smoothly without slop. High performance at a reasonable price.

Eagle Optics delivers on product and service every time, so I keep coming back.

Friday, October 3, 2014

Zeiss Victory 8x20 T* Binocular

From Mike B. in Utah:

5/5 Rating

Perfect


My preferred binoculars are a pair of 12X50 Eagle Optics binoculars. I use the for hiking and have carried them at least four times a week for years.

I really like the offset hinge. It is much more user-friendly than the traditional double hinge found on most smaller binoculars.

For their intended purpose they are superb. I like them well enough that I bought my wife the version and she loves hers.

Thursday, October 2, 2014

Swarovski CL Pocket 8x25 Black Binocular

From James Fox in North Texas:

5/5 Rating

Step up to great viewing 


I hadn't realized the difference a superior binoculars could make in viewing.

I've owned an inexpensive but adequate Japanese unit for 30+ years. It started to lose mechanical integrity and I decided to research a replacement. It was easy, as the majority of independent reviewers indicated Swarovski as a top choice.

From there it was simply a matter of model. As I wanted a light-weight, compact model, the selection was the . So far, I have been very pleased. The optics are great. Mechanics are smooth. It's a pleasure to carry and use.


Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Swarovski EL Swarovision 10x42 Binocular

From Victor L. in Waynesboro, VA:

5/5 Rating

Swarovision is a keeper!


I have been using the Swarovski EL 10x42 binocular for the past 8 years with great satisfaction. I purchased the new only because of the great deal that Eagle Optics was having (sale price plus trade-in value for my current Swarovski).

I have tested my new Swarovision bins now for the past 5 days under various conditions while birding including 1) low light conditions in the woods at sunrise, 2) fields and open woods, 3) hawk watching for both near and very distant raptors and 4) backyard birding. I must say that I am very impressed with the new Swarovision bins.

They are noticeably better than my previous EL 10x42 Swarovski bins in every way. The best attributes are the brighter field, enhanced resolution, and the crispness of the image from edge to edge! The ergonomics of the bins are just as good as my other bins.

They are slightly longer in size and slightly heavier, but not significantly. The "rolling ball effect" while panning was noticed at first but after a few hours of use I don't even notice any longer. Even when I first noticed it, it was really no big deal.

I highly recommend this to those who are looking for a serious, elite binocular and to those who are thinking of upgrading.

Friday, September 26, 2014

Opticron MM3 12-36x50 GA ED Angled Spotting Scope

From ZZBirder in Woodbridge, VA:

4/5 Rating

Compact, rugged little scope 


The MM3 turned out to be the perfect travel scope for a recent trip to the Canadian Rockies. Coupled with a pair of new Swarovski 8x32 El Swarovision binoculars I had the perfect combination for birding and glacier/mountain scanning.

Lugging equipment at higher altitudes can get tiring pretty quickly but this combination made hiking a breeze. While not quite the same quality (or reach) as my Swarovski ATS 65mm scope, I was impressed by the clarity of the optics and good color rendition provided by the HDF 12-36x eyepiece.

While the image at 36x suffers from the small objective and narrow FOV in anything other than bright sunlight, anything up to mid-power magnification was quite acceptable.

I would recommend this scope to anyone who wants a compact, rugged little scope to supplement or replace binoculars. While I use a standard tripod, this scope would probably work well on a monopod/hiking staff also.

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Swarovski EL Swarovision 8x32 Binocular

From ZZ Birder in Woodbridge, VA:

5/5 Rating

Time to Lighten Up


Having traveled for years with a Swarovski ATS 65 mm spotting scope and El 10x42 binoculars as carry-on luggage, it was time to lighten up!

My wife had replaced her 8.5x42 Els with the some time ago and was quite impressed by the difference in weight while retaining the handling and optics she had come to expect from Swarovski. When I opted to reduce the weight and size of my binocular, I, too purchased the .

Returning from a trip to the Canadian Rockies, my only negative comment on the 8x32s is the occasional reflection from the eyepiece that both my wife and I experience as eyeglass wearers from strong sunlight at an angle.

The optics are superb and the handling for my larger hands much better than several competitors that were tested.

Monday, September 22, 2014

Leica Televid 65mm Angled Case

From Virginia in Corvallis, OR:

5/5 Rating

Definitely a quality item


I'd resisted spending the money for the for my Leica scope I bought two years ago, but am glad I finally did. It was especially appreciated on a recent field trip in a shared van with no secure spot for optical equipment.

The case seemed too tight when I first put it on the scope, but the snugness no doubt contributes to the protective qualities.  It doesn't obstruct the viewing or the focusing knobs at all, and the flaps for the eyepiece and scope end are easy to take off and put on. The only problem I had was with changing the angle of the scope but I suspect that was "operator error."

It's definitely a quality item, as one would expect from Leica.