Thursday, January 29, 2015

Zeiss Victory 8x42 T* HT Binocular

From Peter in South Carolina:

5/5 Rating

Superior Optics


Looking through this Zeiss Victory 8x42 T* HT Binocular
is like watching an IMAX movie!  They are bright, crisp and will enhance your birding and wildlife viewing experience.

This binocular feels great in the hand. It is a good weight and has a good "feel," in that its not bulky. They are exceptionally bright. I'm a little color-bind, and the more light the better my ability to see reds and greens. They have a very good close-focus, and are well suited for quick transitions between birds at a distance and butterflies/dragonflies 6' away.

I've used them in a variety of circumstances and they seem to be quite "tough" and handle travel, getting banged around, and general hard use quite well. All in all, they are exceptional.

Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Leica Ultravid HD 7x42 Binocular

From Mike in NY:

5/5 Rating

The binoculars I should have bought first


I purchased a pair of this past December 2014 after using Zeiss Conquest HD 8x32s for the past two years, and more inferior binoculars prior to that. I had convinced myself that I would not see that much of a difference in image quality to justify another pair of binoculars until I tried a pair of Leicas at my local optics shop. I wanted them right away.

To my eye, the image was noticeably superior in both clarity and brightness to my old pair of binoculars. But the view, both in terms of a wider field of view, but most especially the ease of view were the more dramatic improvement.

My old bins were "touchy." I wear eyeglasses and I had difficulty with blackouts and with a problem I've never had with binoculars before: inaccurate aim. When the bins arrived at my eyes, they just weren't where the bird was anymore.

My new are effortless, and I am so pleased with them. I did not purchase my bins from the optics shop. I immediately went home and ordered them from Eagle Optics. I enjoy their website and product videos. They have excellent customer service. They had a promotion for free overnight shipping so I received my Leicas the next day.

I highly recommend the Leicas if you are looking for excellent image, view, build quality, ergonomics, and comfort in a birding glass. Order from Eagle Optics if you value quality service, knowledgeable and friendly staff who understand their business. I couldn't be more satisfied on all fronts.  

Sunday, January 25, 2015

Vanguard Endeavor ED 8x42 Binocular

From Sam in West Chester, PA:

5/5 Rating

Happy with these


For many years I used a Bausch & Lomb Zephyr 8X30, which were my grandfather's from the 1940s. I found it to be perfectly good for birdwatching and horse racing, the things I use bins for.

Then, a friend told me how much better modern binoculars are--so I bought this and it is true! It is sharp and clear and gather light well early or late in the day. They are a little heavier than the mid-sized Zephyr, but fulfill my needs just fine.

Very nice at a reasonable price.

Friday, January 23, 2015

Celestron Trailseeker 10x42 Binocular

From Jeff L. in Findlay, OH:

5/5 Rating

First impressions of the Celestron Trailseeker 10x42


Today (1-11-15) was my first time using the that arrived on Friday (1-9-15).

The binoculars arrived from Eagle Optics in exactly two days as promised by sales staff member Nina. When I removed them from the box, I was immediately impressed by the solid but light weight feel to them. I'm actually more impressed with the build quality of this pair of binoculars over the Celestron Granite 7x33's I own.

Upon first view, I had trouble with collimation. I was testing them out in our family room and was having no luck getting both barrels to focus at the same time. I became a little worried until I realized the diopter on the right eyepiece was way more sensitive then any other pair of binoculars I've owned. It requires a fine tune for your right eye and once I got it dialed in, it looked pretty good. The real test would come when I was out in the elements here in Ohio. That happened this morning and I was impressed.

These binoculars are outstanding for the $250 price point! Even on a cold dreary day in Ohio they delivered excellent views of everything I viewed through them. From Sparrows 30 feet away to Lapland Longspurs and Horned larks 200 feet out in a cornfield, these binoculars brought it! They felt good around my neck and had great, even weight in my hands. I noticed no distortion, but admit this was a first impression that only lasted one hour in the field.

I can't wait to get out and give them a thorough test run, and as soon as I do, I will complete my review. For now, however, I am truly impressed and would recommend these binoculars to anyone looking for a 10X2 pair of binoculars that won't break the bank!

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Atlas Optics Radian 8x42 Binocular

From Kathy in Florida:

5/5 Rating

Very satisfied customer


I am so pleased with my !

Everything about my experience with Eagle Optics has been exceptional.  I was looking for a spare pair of binoculars in the $100 range. I am an intermediate birder on a budget. I also teach middle school students and take them on monthly birding walks and I wanted an extra pair that were student friendly.

These binoculars have exceeded my expectations! The person I spoke to at Eagle prior to ordering was so helpful and recommended these Atlas binoculars. I love these bins! They are easy to focus , light weight and give me a great view. They are an excellent value for the price.

Monday, January 19, 2015

Eagle Optics NEW Ranger ED 10x50 Binocular

From Thomas R. in Ocean Park, WA:

5/5 Rating

Great for watching whales and fishermen 


I bought the as a Christmas present for my wife and I.

We live on a bluff on the SW Coast of Washington and caught the end of the latest southward migration of gray whales. However the Dungeness Crabbers have been out the last few week nights and I could clearly see the boats about 1/2 to 1 mile on a moonlit night.

I was surprised it could capture that much light, and the visual optics on this are somewhat better than a similarly priced Nikon that I have.

I'm looking forward to doing some birding with them.


 

Friday, January 16, 2015

Atlas Optics Intrepid ED 8x42 Binocular

From Jeff H. in Topeka, KS:

5/5 Rating

Great binoculars


I am more than overjoyed with this

The field of view is incredible. The colors and contrast of a drab song sparrow really intensified.  I wished I had these binoculars 5 years ago.

I recommended these to other local birders and a few already bought them.  They really are incredible and they are so affordable.

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Eagle Optics NEW Ranger ED 8x42 Binocular

From D. J. in Black Earth, WI:

5/5 Rating

EO Never Fails to Impress


I have spent many years viewing wildlife, either for personal enjoyment or as my time as a Wildlife Biologist. I first got a taste of EO with the original Ranger 8X42 binoculars in an Ornithology class in college. Needless to say I was hooked.

A few years later I got to use a pair of EO Denali 8X42s on a Sharp-tailed Grouse research program. Thus it took only a short time to wait until the came out. I got a pair right away and have never looked back.

Compared to other optics in this price range (Leupold BX-2 Cascades, Vortex Viper, and Zeiss Terra ED) these are exceptionally bright. It never seems like there is too little of light looking for birds early in the morning. These binoculars are extremely comfortable and the focus wheel is 'grippy' and has just the right 'tension' that allows for quick but then subtle focusing.

I know this optic will keep me viewing crystal clear wildlife for years to come (until I decide to drop even more money for another EO product).