Monday, August 15, 2016

Zeiss Victory SF 8x42 Binocular

From Joan G.:

5/5 Rating

Great binoculars!


I've had the same pair of binoculars for many years and have been wanting to upgrade. I've tried out many brands over the years and could never seen any difference. 

Last December on a cloudy day, I was testing several binoculars using an outside bird feeder as my target. I could see no difference in any of the brands until I picked up the Zeiss Victory SF 8x42 Binocular. The amount of light coming through and the clarity were so dramatic that I had no trouble deciding they were worth making the upgrade. 

I took my new Victory SF to China on a birding trip and adapted to them very quickly. They are well-balanced and focus very quickly. The focus does stick occasionally so probably need to send them back for an adjustment, but haven't wanted to be without them. 

Eagle Optics was very helpful and have been over the years we have dealt with them.

Saturday, August 13, 2016

Opticron Traveller BGA Mg 6x32 Binocular

From Gail N.:

5/5 Rating

Fantastic compact binoculars


My new Opticron Traveller BGA Mg 6x32 Binocular is lightweight, easy focus, the wheel is smooth as silk. Small and compact. Did I mention lightweight? 

Fantastic clarity and sharpness over specified range from 5' to infinite. No edge distortion that I could detect. 

I am so glad I decided to purchase these. They have been discontinued since 2015 so this is may be your last chance to grab a pair. Perfect for hiking or relaxed backyard birding. Also work well in low light.

Thursday, August 11, 2016

Fujinon Polaris 7x50 FMTR-SX Binocular

From Donald M.:

5/5 Rating

The best 7x50


This Fujinon Polaris 7x50 FMTR-SX Binocular is, beyond doubt, the best 7x glass there is! 

It is remarkably sharp and bright with long eye relief. The depth of field exceeds all others, and it is waterproof and TOUGH--and I have used them all. This is a bargain.

Tuesday, August 2, 2016

Zeiss Victory 8x42 T* HT Binocular

From Eric S.:

5/5

Magnificent binoculars!


WOW! The Zeiss Victory 8x42 T* HT Binocular ergonomics were the best of the many high-end binoculars I tried. The build quality impeccable, the image glorious and without peer among what I looked through, and the lack of a field flattener feature was fantastic (I'm one of the small percentage of people who gets nauseous when looking through a binocular with a field flattener in the optical system). 

I didn’t start with the Victory HT’s, but I am so happy Mike at Eagle suggested I them a try. I look forward to using them every time I pick them up and find a joyful delight in the world I see looking through them. I couldn’t be happier with the Zeiss Victory HT’s! 

Eagle Optics was great; I am thankful they were patient as I searched for a new pair of binoculars that worked for me. I learned the selection of a great pair of binoculars is very personal and best when you can hold, feel, and look through them.

Thursday, June 30, 2016

Zeiss Terra ED 8x42 Binocular

From Sara:

5/5 Rating

Love these bins!



I've had my Zeiss Terra ED 8x42 Binocular for over a year now and I still love them as much today as I did the day they arrived from EO. 
They are a tad heavier than I'd like, but in return for the weight, the optics are amazing. The light gathering capability and the tight focus means that I can find a bird in no time at all. You can't beat these for the money. 
Everyone who looks thru them is quite smitten. Only one negative... the little Zeiss "designer" label fell off early on, but I look at that as almost a plus. Without the label the bins don't scream "STEAL ME!"

Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Vortex Diamondback 8x28 Binocular

From Kathleen P. in Nashvillle, TN:

5/5 Rating

Great binoculars!


I was looking for high quality lightweight binoculars to take to Yellowstone and the Tetons later this year.  

After extensive research, comparisons and reading reviews, I settled on the Got them within three days of ordering.  

I'm thrilled with the lifetime warranty, great optics and ease of use for a glasses wearer.  These will be a fabulous addition to my trip.  

Monday, June 27, 2016

Leica Ultravid HD-PLUS 7x42 Binocular

From Steve T. in San Francisco:

5/5 Rating

Best binoculars I have ever owned


I have had a pair of the  for three or four months now. Over the years I have had all the major brands, but none compare to the brightness and the ease of use.

These binoculars are really bright--even more so than the previous model of the same brand.    They are sharp end to end and have a nice wide field of view. They are extremely well built.  My older eyes do not get fatigued when using them as they do with field-flattened lenses of the other major brands.

Yes, they are only seven power but I can honestly say the one step down in power makes no difference once you get used to them, and the wide field of view more than makes up for it. Also, 42 divided by 7 makes a 6mm exit pupil, which is great for older eyes. 

I cannot say enough good things about the , and if you purchase a pair you will not be disappointed.   Unless I lose these, it will be my last pair of binoculars.  Thanks, Leica!

Tuesday, June 21, 2016

Kowa YF 8x30 Binocular

From Rod in Kentucky:

5/5 Rating

Great entry level binocular


I purchased the  as a gift for a 10-year-old birder. Of course, I had to try them out myself. What a pleasant surprise! 

This is my first experience with the Kowa brand. I had previously recommended the Nikon 7x35 Action as an affordable, entry level binocular to new birders and have given a few of those as gifts previously. Now that I've tried these, I will recommend these instead. 

The view is better than the Nikon with less distortion at the edges. If the FOV is less, I did not notice. The Kowa's ergonomics are better also and they are lighter weight. The focus wheel is slightly tight, but hopefully that will improve with a bit of use. It also takes about two revolutions to focus through from close up to infinity. But that is to be expected at this price point. 

The  is well-sized for a young person or someone with small hands, or if you are looking for a smaller binocular but aren't willing to sacrifice the view. While I won't be switching out my Zeiss binoculars for these, I feel confident recommending them. Of course, the Eagle Optics experience is top notch and shipping was faster than expected.