Sunday, October 4, 2015

Vortex Viper 8x28 Binocular

From Will in Northern New Mexico:

5/5 Rating

Vortex Viper 8x28 Bins, small but pack a punch

The  is as advertised size and weight-wise. Other reviews have said 'they don't fit in your pocket', they may not fit in a conventional pant pocket but they'd fit into a vest pocket or a cargo pant very easily - besides, binoculars belong on your neck not your pocket!

I got these for my partner so she could have a small travel pair that wouldn't take up too much room in a bag/day pack while traveling. I was very impressed with the glass quality and clarity. True color. The field of vision is obviously small, but that was expected.

I bird with a pair of Eagle Optic Ranger 8x42s, but I'm considering a pair of these in the future for kayaking/traveling. Nice Bins, I'd recommend them to travel/casual birders who need a packable pair of binoculars.

Friday, October 2, 2015

Leica Duovid 8+12x42 Binocular (Black)

From William P. in Hampstead, NH:

5/5 Rating

Leica quality binoculars

I purchased a pair of  a few years ago and I am so thrilled with them. 

I took them on a trip to Ireland last year and did a lot of bird watching-- in seconds you can go from 8x to 12x magnification to see distant ocean birds and back for close bush or field birds. The visual clarity is the best you can buy, in my opinion. 

I own 5 pairs of Leica binoculars and a Leica Spotting scope and have spent so many enjoyable hours and seasons nature and bird watching. Thanks for a wonderful, high-quality product.

Friday, September 4, 2015

Vortex Diamondback 8x42 Binocular

From Ed R. in Northbrook, IL:

5/5 Rating

Excellent product

I use binoculars for birding and have tried a variety of models in the inexpensive-to-intermediate price range ($100-300).  I strongly prefer the Vortex Diamondback 8x42 Binocular over the others.  

First, the optics are sharp and remarkably bright in low light. Second, the build is solid.  My first pair has held up well over time.  Third, they have excellent  close-focus and, therefore, perform admirably to provide detail on butterflies, dragonflies, frogs, and other fauna viewed at close range.  

My son (who is a much more experienced birder than I) greatly prefers the Diamondbacks to his more expensive Minox and Leupold binoculars.  My wife, who was a big fan of her Swifts, also now prefers the Diamondbacks.  So I bought a pair for each of us.  

My only complaint is that the focus knob is too stiff right out of the box.  But after a few weeks, the focusing becomes fast and smooth.

Wednesday, September 2, 2015

Minox BV II 10x25 BR Binocular

From Thomas in Seattle, WA:

5/5 Rating

Great buy

I picked up the Minox BV II 10x25 BR Binocular, and LOVE them. The color and light collection are excellent.  

On my last trip to the ocean, with the 10 X 25 I was able to see the greenish yellow leg color of the Least Sandpipers; I was not able to see it with the 8 X 25 Pentax I had, so the 10 power really helped.

With any 10 x 25 the issue is small field of view. It makes following the jumps and small flights of quick warblers, kinglets and such a little difficult. To compensate, I practiced aiming at objects to get used to aiming the binoculars quickly, and it got much better with practice.  

The 4 stop eyecup adjustment for glasses is a bonus; I don't wear glasses, but my daughter and wife do, so when we shared them looking at seals from the ferry it was nice to be able to quickly adjust the eyecups.  

I'm so impressed I'm probably going to be looking at a pair of Minox 10X42's here pretty soon. The nice neoprene strechy neck strap is an uncommon bonus for a compact pair of binoculars too.  
I wish they came with a rain guard, but what compact binoculars come with a rain guard?

Monday, August 31, 2015

Zeiss Victory SF 10x42 Binocular

From Cindy L. in Republic of Panama:

5/5 Rating

Remarkably excellent

I expected a lot from the  because of the very high price and the fact that Zeiss built them "from scratch" as binoculars designed specifically for birders and wildlife observers.

I am not disappointed - they are better than I expected.  The focus knob really does have a buttery-smooth action and can be used with fingers in their natural position.  I have very small hands, and the weight is not a problem due to the perfect balance of the bins when held up to the eyes.  The resolution, the field of view - it's all spectacular.  

I can't think of a single negative comment or complaint.

Saturday, August 29, 2015

Celestron Granite ED 8x42 Binocular

From Colleen in Oregon:

4/5 Rating

Great binos!

I was excited to find a good pair of field binos with an IPD that would fit! Very happy with the performance and viewing clarity of my  and thrilled they still work well (no fogging or damage) after being slammed by a wave out in the research boat.  

My only complaint is that the lens caps don't fit tightly and keep falling out - haven't lost one yet but worried that I will.  Otherwise they are great, lightweight, crisp binoculars for a reasonable price.

Thursday, August 27, 2015

Zeiss Terra ED 8x42 Binocular

From Jim in Delaware:

5/5 Rating

Fantastic views!

I have been using the  for a month now and absolutely love them! Colors pop and details are clear.

I am also a big fan of the focus wheel, which is well positioned and large. The sensitivity of the focus wheel took a few days to get used to, but once I did, I have really enjoyed the quickness of finding the proper focus. 

The one improvement I would suggest to Zeiss would be to provide lens caps that hold onto the body more firmly. The supplied objective covers pop out with the slightest movements. 

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Meopta Meostar 10x42 Binocular

From Derek in NY:

5/5 Rating

Great Binoculars!

Great binoculars! I have owned the  for a little over two years now I couldn’t be more pleased with them. I use the 10x42s and can say with confidence that they deliver some of the brightest, most crisp viewing I’ve ever experienced in a 10x42 binocular. 

I am an avid birder and rely heavily on the binocular to deliver these types of results. I have put these to the test in a variety of field conditions and have had zero issues with fogging or water. I am constantly in the field with my job and I am very hard on equipment and can say that these were built with longevity and durability in mind. Plus Meopta’s lens design can’t be matched (I own the Meostar S2 Spotter as well). 

In short, I would highly recommend these to someone that wants a high-end pair of binoculars while achieving the best bang for your buck. There’s a reason these get ranked as one of the best HD binoculars in the world.