Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Swarovski CL Pocket 8x25 Green Binocular

From Ridgerunner in Maine:

5/5 Rating

Best Binoculars on a Salmon River


Having recently purchased the , my use is principally for navigating Atlantic salmon rivers - where traveling down a rapids-infested river requires examining the state of flow, the river edges for walking, as well as scanning pools for telltale ripples of aggressive salmon. One handed use, waterproofing, easy placement in front of the eyes, with compactness are all needed.

The passed - in fact I believe they are the best compacts out there for such explorations. I compared them directly with , and found these Swarovski bins were indistinguishable in clarity. The downside is a narrower field of view, and slightly more care needed in placing the binoculars in front of the eyes, so for birding they could work, but the Zeiss would be preferred. That is it.

They were crisp and sharp edge to edge in my estimation. If one were going to the Himalayas (I spent 24 months hiking there many years ago) I would take these Swarovski 8x25s. Same for kayaking in Maine and Nova Scotia. Also, if one is principally into photography, on foot, the Swarovski bins would be the ones to take, weighing less while being razor sharp.

These...are...the...ones. Period.

Monday, October 27, 2014

Opticron T3 Trailfinder WP 8x25 Binocular

From Robert F. in Chicago:

5/5 Rating

Superb for the price. Actually hard to believe!


This is probably the best I have ever come across in the price range below the top shots. Thus, there is a clear fine and bright view. A very smooth focus, and a surprisingly close focus as well.

So much better than the Adventurer offered from the same company. If one needs to wear glasses while using binoculars, one still gets pretty much the full field of view here. The only limitation I can see comes for those with a narrow setting of their eyes. In that case, the two tubes may not fold together sufficiently.

So in case of doubt, it would be good to try before you buy. Otherwise just go ahead and you certainly won't regret it. Whether green or black, it is the same fine model.

Friday, October 24, 2014

Opticron GS 52 GA ED 12-36x52 Angled Spotting Scope

From Mike in Utah:

5/5 Rating

Great trail scope


I purchased this  and the , together they weigh in at 4.25 pounds on my postal scale, less than my big tripod  alone!

I plan to carry them when I hike in areas where I would like to observe wildlife.  The scope is clear, easy to use and light enough to go almost anywhere.

The performance will not match my big Swarovski, but it will be perfect for use on the trail. I am glad I made the purchase.

Thursday, October 23, 2014

Vortex Solo 8x36 Monocular

From Earl D. in Westerville, OH:

5/5 Rating

This is a very good monocular for the money



I also own two 8x25 Vortex Solo Monocular, but I like this one better.    The gives you a bigger field of view and a brighter image.  

I like the metal clip.   When I am working outdoors I can slip the monocular on my belt.  This give me both hands free without having the monocular swinging around on a neck or wrist strap.

Every Solo Monocular I've owned has a stiff focus wheel, but they do loosen up with use.  
And it only takes a quarter turn to go from close to far.  

For me, I only use a monocular in special situations.    I keep one in each car's glove box.  I always take my 8x36 Solo in my gear bag.

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 Binocular

From JoAnn C. in Lewisburg, PA:

5/5 Rating

Awesome 1st pair of quality binoculars!


I spent a lot of time researching various brands of binoculars.

One of the main reasons I chose Eagle Optics was because of the excellent customer service I received when calling for guidance in choosing the right binocular for me based on my intended use and price point. The customer service rep was incredibly knowledgeable about the Eagle brand as well as assisting me in comparing them to other brands. I was very impressed!

The lifetime warranty also made it easy to choose Eagle Optics!  My new arrived promptly and I've enjoyed them every day since. The view is crystal clear with ample light for birding (well...mostly "squirreling") at my backyard feeder and on the trail. The neck strap is incredibly comfortable I think in part due to the flexibility of the material. The center focus knob is very easy to turn.

I definitely made the right choice.

Monday, October 6, 2014

Vanguard Abeo 283CV Carbon Tripod Kit

From John in Florida:

5/5 Rating

Sturdy


This is well-suited for using any spotting scope in the field.

It's comfortable to carry and light to pack, strong enough to mount the big scopes without excessive vibration, tall enough for someone 6'4" using a straight scope, and fast to set up and take down. The pan head operates smoothly without slop. High performance at a reasonable price.

Eagle Optics delivers on product and service every time, so I keep coming back.

Friday, October 3, 2014

Zeiss Victory 8x20 T* Binocular

From Mike B. in Utah:

5/5 Rating

Perfect


My preferred binoculars are a pair of 12X50 Eagle Optics binoculars. I use the for hiking and have carried them at least four times a week for years.

I really like the offset hinge. It is much more user-friendly than the traditional double hinge found on most smaller binoculars.

For their intended purpose they are superb. I like them well enough that I bought my wife the version and she loves hers.

Thursday, October 2, 2014

Swarovski CL Pocket 8x25 Black Binocular

From James Fox in North Texas:

5/5 Rating

Step up to great viewing 


I hadn't realized the difference a superior binoculars could make in viewing.

I've owned an inexpensive but adequate Japanese unit for 30+ years. It started to lose mechanical integrity and I decided to research a replacement. It was easy, as the majority of independent reviewers indicated Swarovski as a top choice.

From there it was simply a matter of model. As I wanted a light-weight, compact model, the selection was the . So far, I have been very pleased. The optics are great. Mechanics are smooth. It's a pleasure to carry and use.