Thursday, August 28, 2014

Vortex Viper HD 8x32 Binocular

From Phil N. in Van Nuys, CA:

5/5 Rating

Price, size and clarity make it a good value


I got these to fill in the gap in my binocular collection. I have 3 other larger pairs, but no high quality compact pair.

My first useful experience with them was at a concert at the Greek Theatre, an outdoors bowl-type location. We had nosebleed seats, and am I ever glad I brought my along. The case has very useful belt loops, so I could stash 'em there while I went down to get robbed at the beer bar.

Anyways, the clarity of these is high definition. 8x is about the maximum magnification I can hold steady, and I could almost see the nose hairs on the guitarist's face crystal clear. My buddy had some junky little binos, that looked like you were looking thru the bottom of a shot glass.

The price, compact size, and clarity make the a good value if you are looking for high quality compact glass. I imagine they would be good for bird watching too. I love 'em!

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Atlas Optics Radian 8x42 Binocular

From Mimi on the West Coast:

5/5 Rating

Great Binoculars


I watched a lot of reviews and information videos on binoculars, and then decided on the for our safari in Africa.

I was very happy with them. They worked very well, and they were fairly compact for carrying around - an important consideration. The Eagle Optics staff gave me great service and helped me choose. I felt very confident in using Eagle Optics for my purchase.

I've had a few friends now who have bought the and also been very happy with them. Thank you!

Thursday, August 21, 2014

Eagle Optics NEW Ranger ED 8x32 Binocular

From C.S. in Cape May, NJ:

5/5 Rating

A step up from the very nice original Ranger 8x32


I am familiar with the previous Ranger 8x32 binoculars and thought they were a good buy. When I needed a binocular that could be used by people of various sizes and ages, I decided that 8x32 binoculars would meet my criteria and the seemed like a good choice.

 I was not disappointed. Optically they are bright, show little chromatic aberration, and have a generous field of view. They seem sturdy, well made, and are light at under 20 ounces.

I had several friends try the binoculars and they all liked them and were even more impressed when they found out how much they cost. Everyone that tried them (from large hands to small) found them to be comfortable in hand and ergonomically sound.

I am very pleased with this purchase and look forward to many years of good service.  

Saturday, August 16, 2014

Eagle Optics Bino System Harness Strap

From James H. in Raleigh, NC:

5/5 Rating  

Excellent Decision


 I had never used a binoc harness strap before, but had recommendations for the Eagle Optics product from a veteran birding friend.

I ordered and received my both efficiently and rapidly. After hooking my binocs up to it, I couldn't figure why I waited so long to make this purchase.

It works beautifully. No more awkwardly dangling binoculars while hiking and frequently leaning over to take pictures or stooping to observe anything below eye level. The slight tension the harness provides also helps stabilize the binocs while viewing through them.

A great product!

Thursday, August 14, 2014

Swarovski EL Swarovision 8.5x42 Binocular

From RCG in Connecticut:

5/5 Rating

Absolutely breathtaking

My were just delivered by FedEx two hours ago.

I had only been able to try them and compare them indoors, so the first outdoor use was a revelation. I sat on a balcony overlooking my back yard, and looked at everything in sight. Unbeknownst to me, there is a chipmunk living in a toppled over maple tree just at the edge of my woods. I had quite a nice view if him scratching his fleas, while he was sitting in a very shaded area.

The images are , with subtle coloring, shading, and textures, previously unseen in my faithful Nikon Venturer LX. (also 10X42) The focus wheel of the is different, and brand new, so I will have to get used to that.

The balance is fine, and the binoculars come naturally to the eyes. I like the "sticky" rubber, but I don't know if it becomes less sticky with use.

These are my new "drag them everywhere" glasses, and I wouldn't trade them for anything, even after only a half-hour's use. I have spent more than sixty years looking through various and sundry binoculars, and these are the best yet, by far.

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Pentax Papilio 6.5x21 Binocular

From Dr. P. in Troy, Ohio:

5/5 Rating

Maybe THE PERFECT compact

The close-focus feature of the is just the beginning of a host of features: to a wide and deep field of view add ease-of-use, the glass and coatings give an image rivaling far more expensive compacts, and at this price point there is no excuse not to take them everywhere.   What a gem! 

I have Zeiss, Swarovski, Leica and other high-end glasses on the shelf.......now I grab these first.  I'll likely buy another pair to keep in the car.  Easily a 5-star glass for its intended use; add 5 more for general use other than very low light or when higher magnification is needed.

Monday, August 11, 2014

Zeiss Conquest HD 8x32

From Kenny G. in Evansville, IN:

5/5 Rating

Two thumbs way up!

 

Bought this from Eagle Optics last month. I've had many decent binoculars since starting bird watching in1988. I can only say that these give me the "WOW" factor when I put them up to my eyes!

Excellent eye relief for eye glass wearers like myself. Wonderful clarity and wide field of view. Very smooth focus and quick to get on target. Only negative are the useless objective covers.

Two thumbs way up for this superb binocular.

Friday, August 8, 2014

Eagle Optics Ranger 10x42 Binocular

From Neil H. in Oklahoma City:

5/5 Rating

Bought another pair for my wife


This  was recommended to me by serious birders.  I got one and was immediately impressed by the quality of the optics, convenient size, quick focus, and amenities including carrying case and lens caps. 

My wife really liked them, too, which led to lots of “Let me have ‘em!” and “Give ‘em back!”  In an effort to prevent further marital discord, I bought her a pair of her own!  I’m certain that Eagle Optics can take credit for saving our marriage.


I'd recommend these to anyone without reservation.  And, they're cheaper than marriage counseling.