Friday, July 3, 2015

Vortex Viper HD 8x32 Binocular

From Jean in Nevada:

5/5 Rating

Excellent pair of binocs!


I did my research and chose the . I use them mostly for birding. 

They are easy to handle-- not too big, not too heavy, easy to focus, and are exceptionally bright and clear. I particularly like that I can easily use them with my eye glasses on. Also, I have rather close set eyes and this binocular handles that very well. 

For a mid-priced binoc, this one is fantastic. I highly recommend it!  

Wednesday, July 1, 2015

Meopta Meopro HD 8x42 Binocular

From Andries S. in South Africa:

5/5 Rating

Punches well above its weight


I have owned my  now for 2 months. I spent a good 6 months looking at binoculars that would give me the best bang for my buck. 

On every level, these beat the Zeiss Conquests including price. You would have to jump to Leica or Swaro to beat these. 

Are they the best binos that money can buy? No, but I believe they are the best out there for the money and some more. 

Monday, June 29, 2015

Eagle Optics Bino System Harness Strap

From David in Charleston, SC:

5/5 Rating

Great protection for valuable equipment!


As Director of an Environmental Education Center, I have a fleet of  and  for our birding classes. 

I replaced every single neck strap with a harness strap, and now I am confident in giving even 1st graders some good quality binoculars, knowing that, short of somersaulting on the beach, these binoculars are not going to be dropped, forgotten, or dragged in the sand.

None of the 25 s that I have used have failed on me, or shown significant wear and tear for the past 4 years. Once again, Eagle Optics sells a well-made, thoughtfully designed and effective product. Well done!

One caveat: In the last few years, EO has improved the product to include  to attach the harness to the binoculars without use of zip ties. BRAVO! This works (with some brute force) with Denali's, Shrikes, Rangers, and Ranger ED's.  However, please note that the strap attachment for the  is too narrow, so you have to resort to zip ties. They work, but are not the most elegant solution.

Eagle Optics, I encourage you to improve upon an already incredibly well designed system, to either widen the strap attachment for the Kingbird, or provide a grommeted fabric alternative to the zip ties that is narrow enough to work (I recognize that that may be impossible).

Eagle Optics replies: the connectors included with the harness strap are now made of a rubberized material which can be cut with a scissors to fit through narrower slots, like on the Kingbird. It no longer has grommets, so it is much easier to insert through the slot also.

Saturday, June 27, 2015

Eagle Optics NEW Ranger ED 10x42 Binocular

From Jennifer in CA:
5/5 Rating

Excellent binocs!


I ordered these s for my husband for Father's Day on the recommendation of a good friend who is an advanced birder. 

I could not be more pleased with the quality--bright, light, super fun to use! Great value. Coincidentally, he gave me a different pair (different brand) for Mother's Day--more expensive but not as good. 

I will recommend these to friends for sure.

Thursday, June 25, 2015

Meopta Meopro HD 20-60x80 Angled Spotting Scope


From Angelo B. in the U.S.:

5/5 Rating

A pleasure to use


The  with the MeoBright ion-assisted multi-coatings is the highest performing spotting scope I have ever used in the field.

The angled body and integrated 20-60x eyepiece along with the mid-body focus control made it a pleasure to use for easy and fast focus in the field, even with gloves on.
 
The imagery is crystal clear from edge to edge making it easy to assess game at long distances and a must for hunters, bird watchers or scientific study.

Friday, June 19, 2015

Atlas Optics Intrepid ED 10x42 Binocular

From Cynthia T. in the U.S.:

4/5 Rating

Great Pair of bins...For a great price!


I needed a pair of bins quickly and inexpensively and the  fits those needs perfectly! An excellent choice having not seen or touched the product before purchasing. 

The Intrepid is crisp and clear. Even a bit better than a more expensive pair I once had, so I was pleasantly surprised. They were shipped overnight and arrived just in time as I was leaving the next day for vacation. 

I would definitely recommend these to anyone looking for a nice quality item that works well and is very affordable. I use them for birding.

Wednesday, June 17, 2015

Eagle Optics Kingbird 6.5x32 Binocular

From Kirby R. in North Carolina:

5/5 Rating

Good buy for kids


Our grandchildren are learning to watch birds and other wildlife.  We wanted them to have some good quality binoculars appropriate for their size, without investing too many dollars in case they lose interest. 

This Eagle Optics Kingbird 6.5x32 Binocular has a great warranty and an excellent price, and is a size manageable for children.  So we ordered it online, and it arrived promptly.  What's not to like??!

Monday, June 15, 2015

Celestron Granite ED 7x33 Binocular

From Ron in Yreka, CA:

5/5 Rating

A good buy


I'm new to binoculars (good ones, that is), so I can't speak in technical terms like those who are experienced can. This is my first serious purchase of binoculars, having had a pair of "cheapies" for years. I have been able, though, to look at some pretty nice ones and compare in stores. 

For the money, I chose these  over others, some costing quite a bit more, because the view through these binoculars is what I would call more "pure." 

There were others that were quite nice as well, in terms of sharpness, clarity, etc., but with these Celestron Granite ED's, I felt there was "less" between my eyes and what I was looking at, making the view seem much more real and natural, as well as being very easy on the eyes. 

That's the best way I can explain it, and because of that, I would choose these again over other very nice binoculars that I looked at. I presume that a lot more money would have to be spent to top these (for me) and so I consider these binoculars to be a really good buy. 

Also, it's nice to find a good place like Eagle Optics to buy from, and I will buy from them again.