Monday, November 9, 2015

Zeiss Conquest HD 10x32 Binocular

From Upper New York State customer:

5/5 Rating

An excellent choice

I bought a pair of Zeiss 8x20 binoculars from Eagle Optics many years ago and have used them while traveling, hiking, and backpacking with great pleasure. They are terrific. I wanted to add a 10-power binocular for birdwatching, hiking, and general use. After looking at current binocular prices and thinking about the Zeiss Conquest 10x42s, I eventually decided on the 

The  have a slightly larger field of view than the 10x42s, weigh less, and for hiking that, and their compact size, is important. They are rugged and easy to focus and use.They also have a very good close-focus distance, better than almost all other binoculars in their class. 

I've now used them in good and bad weather for about a month and am very satisfied. They deliver crisp, clear images in all sorts of lighting conditions, and they are less expensive than comparable high-quality binoculars by excellent manufacturers. 

My 8x20s are wonderful for their size, weight, and price, but these are better. Although they don't gather as much light as the 10x42s, I have never been disappointed by what I was able to see. If you want a reasonably priced, really good binocular for serious use in all sorts of conditions where size, weight, and ease of use are important, these Zeiss 10x32s are an excellent choice.

Tuesday, October 20, 2015

Vanguard Endeavor ED 8x42 Binocular

From Lee in Woodside, CA

5/5 Rating

Great expectations

My wife and I (both retired) live in an urban area on top of a mountain with lots of wild life and many birds. 

Previously, we were using an very old pair of binoculars that must have been made of lead, difficult to focus, and discouraging to use. That is, until our new  arrived.  

What a surprise!  Now we see everything--very close, easy to focus, lightweight and easier to accurately identify birds. It's a good product and you also made it easy to order. Many thanks, Eagle Optics! 

Sunday, October 18, 2015

Eagle Optics Shrike 8x42 Binocular

From K.M. in Peru, Indiana:



I am a beginner birder and avid wildlife watcher and have been researching binoculars for awhile. I wanted a quality binocular but not too expensive. I also needed a binocular that would work with my eyeglasses. 

I am a beginner birder and avid wildlife watcher and have been researching binoculars for awhile. I wanted a quality binocular but not too expensive. I also needed a binocular that would work with my eyeglasses. Several online reviews led me to Eagle Optics and to the  especially, because of the longer eye relief (which is important if you wear glasses). 

I am thrilled! They are beautiful and feel good in my hands. And the lenses are amazing. They do indeed work well with my glasses, but I also find that there is enough focus control for me to use them without my glasses on (and I am wicked nearsighted). 

I'm still getting used to using them -- finding the right place to point them when I bring them to my eyes; turning the focus wheel the correct direction to adjust (and birds don't stay still long enough!) -- but I am having a grand time! I have even been getting a good look at the moon and plan to venture into "binocular astronomy." I highly recommend these binoculars.

Thursday, October 15, 2015

Zeiss 8x42 Conquest HD Binocular

From Wilma A. in Bloomingburg, NY:

5/5 Rating

Now I can see the birds!!

I had been researching, trying to decide what brand of binoculars I was going to get to supplement my 12x50 set.

The  was definitely in the running.  I asked a new birding friend if she like hers.  She told me no...I don't like them....but then she said.....I LOVE LOVE LOVE THEM!

Well, the next week we were out I asked if I could look through them and she said yes.  I was so surprised by what I was able to view through them. I went right home that day and placed my order.

I am so glad I did because I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE THEM!  The clarity is amazing.  I can see birds I was missing before.

Thank you Zeiss, and thanks to Eagle Optics for your service. 

Tuesday, October 13, 2015

Eagle Optics Ranger ED 10x42 Binocular

From Karen S. in Plainfield, VT:

5/5 Rating

Great binoculars, couldn't be happier!

I ordered the  last year after some research on line and lots of checking in with other birders. I've been birding for years, but have limited income so making a good decision on this investment was crucial for me. 

I'm happy to report I could not be happier with the Rangers.They are one of the best purchases I have ever made and give me hours of pleasure all year round.

I enjoy sharp bright images, even in surprisingly low light conditions. The binoculars are compact, light weight and fit well in the hand. They are well designed with excellent eye relief, which I especially appreciate, as I wear glasses. The focusing mechanism is snug and smooth, a pleasure to use. The 10/42s have been a perfect choice for me. They provide a chance of seeing a little more at the shore as I don't own a scope, while the close range focus allows me to enjoy warblers in wooded areas.

On the basis of my experience with the Ranger, I have recommended these as well as the the Shrike binoculars to new birders and some old hands as well.

Very happy with your product. Thank you!!

Sunday, October 4, 2015

Vortex Viper 8x28 Binocular

From Will in Northern New Mexico:

5/5 Rating

Vortex Viper 8x28 Bins, small but pack a punch

The  is as advertised size and weight-wise. Other reviews have said 'they don't fit in your pocket', they may not fit in a conventional pant pocket but they'd fit into a vest pocket or a cargo pant very easily - besides, binoculars belong on your neck not your pocket!

I got these for my partner so she could have a small travel pair that wouldn't take up too much room in a bag/day pack while traveling. I was very impressed with the glass quality and clarity. True color. The field of vision is obviously small, but that was expected.

I bird with a pair of Eagle Optic Ranger 8x42s, but I'm considering a pair of these in the future for kayaking/traveling. Nice Bins, I'd recommend them to travel/casual birders who need a packable pair of binoculars.

Friday, October 2, 2015

Leica Duovid 8+12x42 Binocular (Black)

From William P. in Hampstead, NH:

5/5 Rating

Leica quality binoculars

I purchased a pair of  a few years ago and I am so thrilled with them. 

I took them on a trip to Ireland last year and did a lot of bird watching-- in seconds you can go from 8x to 12x magnification to see distant ocean birds and back for close bush or field birds. The visual clarity is the best you can buy, in my opinion. 

I own 5 pairs of Leica binoculars and a Leica Spotting scope and have spent so many enjoyable hours and seasons nature and bird watching. Thanks for a wonderful, high-quality product.

Friday, September 4, 2015

Vortex Diamondback 8x42 Binocular

From Ed R. in Northbrook, IL:

5/5 Rating

Excellent product

I use binoculars for birding and have tried a variety of models in the inexpensive-to-intermediate price range ($100-300).  I strongly prefer the Vortex Diamondback 8x42 Binocular over the others.  

First, the optics are sharp and remarkably bright in low light. Second, the build is solid.  My first pair has held up well over time.  Third, they have excellent  close-focus and, therefore, perform admirably to provide detail on butterflies, dragonflies, frogs, and other fauna viewed at close range.  

My son (who is a much more experienced birder than I) greatly prefers the Diamondbacks to his more expensive Minox and Leupold binoculars.  My wife, who was a big fan of her Swifts, also now prefers the Diamondbacks.  So I bought a pair for each of us.  

My only complaint is that the focus knob is too stiff right out of the box.  But after a few weeks, the focusing becomes fast and smooth.