Friday, July 10, 2015

Eagle Optics Golden Eagle HD 8x42 Binocular

From Neil B. in Cedar Rapids, IA:

5/5 Rating

Great binocular for the price


This is the third binocular that I have purchased from Eagle Optics, and I also bought a spotting scope.  I always recommend EO to my summer ornithology students because they will get great optics at affordable prices for students, and, from experience, they really stand by that lifetime warranty.

I really like the . I compared it with my Nikon Monarch and the EO Ranger that I have, and it were sharper, brighter, more comfortable to hold, and quicker to focus.  

I guess I never had problems with the diopter adjustment moving on any binocular since my first bargain pair 46 years ago, but the locking diopter works especially well on the Golden Eagle. Of minor importance, the accessories and the case with an inside pocket were welcomed.

With my visual acuity failing as I get older, I am looking to many years of birding with these.  I would hope that the binoculars that sell for twice this amount are twice as good in the situations where we bird 95 percent of the time.  I think these are excellent optics at a great price.

Wednesday, July 8, 2015

Vortex Viper HD 8x32 Binocular

From George in NJ:

4/5 Rating

Viper 8x32 grows on you!


Bought the Vortex Viper HD 8x32 Binocular through Eagle Optics in the fall of 2014, during my early days as a bird watcher...prior to understanding best method for locating birds. 

Then, I relied on panning through the binocular, and found that the Vortex Viper had a shallower depth of field than my "go to" pair.  So in the beginning, I had difficulty locating birds using the Vipers.  Subsequently, I learned to rely more on my eyes to locate, and once sited, the binoculars to hone in on the bird.  This technique led to my appreciation of the Viper.  

While the depth of field was shallower than my standards, the Viper had a clear advantage in sharpness of image combined with superior contrast.  I have tried both the Viper 8x42 and 8x32 binoculars.  I bought the 32s because I preferred a wider FOV and also appreciated the compact size and reduction in weight.  

Having said that, if you can only own one pair of binoculars, you may find the 8x42 a better choice...brighter, wider aperture, easier on the eye.  A joy to use.  And although the FOV is narrower on the 8x42, depth of field is a tad better, the edge to edge clarity is a tad sharper.  

Regardless, the Vortex Viper is very hard to beat for the money, and certainly is a keeper, even if you decide to purchase an Alpha pair down the road.  Eagle Optics offers superior knowledge and service...simply put, they know their stuff.

Monday, July 6, 2015

Zeiss 8x42 Conquest HD Binocular

From Monte in Newark, OH:

5/5 Rating

Very versatile


Although the  is very highly rated for birding by the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, I was very surprised to see how well they worked on night sky objects on a recent trip to Arizona. 

Even with the comparatively small objective size (for astronomy), I was able to easily pick up some faint objects I didn't expect. 

For birding, I find their larger field of view, brighter image (in the shade) and smaller magnification easier to use than 10x binoculars. 

Friday, July 3, 2015

Vortex Viper HD 8x32 Binocular

From Jean in Nevada:

5/5 Rating

Excellent pair of binocs!


I did my research and chose the . I use them mostly for birding. 

They are easy to handle-- not too big, not too heavy, easy to focus, and are exceptionally bright and clear. I particularly like that I can easily use them with my eye glasses on. Also, I have rather close set eyes and this binocular handles that very well. 

For a mid-priced binoc, this one is fantastic. I highly recommend it!  

Wednesday, July 1, 2015

Meopta Meopro HD 8x42 Binocular

From Andries S. in South Africa:

5/5 Rating

Punches well above its weight


I have owned my  now for 2 months. I spent a good 6 months looking at binoculars that would give me the best bang for my buck. 

On every level, these beat the Zeiss Conquests including price. You would have to jump to Leica or Swaro to beat these. 

Are they the best binos that money can buy? No, but I believe they are the best out there for the money and some more. 

Monday, June 29, 2015

Eagle Optics Bino System Harness Strap

From David in Charleston, SC:

5/5 Rating

Great protection for valuable equipment!


As Director of an Environmental Education Center, I have a fleet of  and  for our birding classes. 

I replaced every single neck strap with a harness strap, and now I am confident in giving even 1st graders some good quality binoculars, knowing that, short of somersaulting on the beach, these binoculars are not going to be dropped, forgotten, or dragged in the sand.

None of the 25 s that I have used have failed on me, or shown significant wear and tear for the past 4 years. Once again, Eagle Optics sells a well-made, thoughtfully designed and effective product. Well done!

One caveat: In the last few years, EO has improved the product to include  to attach the harness to the binoculars without use of zip ties. BRAVO! This works (with some brute force) with Denali's, Shrikes, Rangers, and Ranger ED's.  However, please note that the strap attachment for the  is too narrow, so you have to resort to zip ties. They work, but are not the most elegant solution.

Eagle Optics, I encourage you to improve upon an already incredibly well designed system, to either widen the strap attachment for the Kingbird, or provide a grommeted fabric alternative to the zip ties that is narrow enough to work (I recognize that that may be impossible).

Eagle Optics replies: the connectors included with the harness strap are now made of a rubberized material which can be cut with a scissors to fit through narrower slots, like on the Kingbird. It no longer has grommets, so it is much easier to insert through the slot also.

Saturday, June 27, 2015

Eagle Optics NEW Ranger ED 10x42 Binocular

From Jennifer in CA:
5/5 Rating

Excellent binocs!


I ordered these s for my husband for Father's Day on the recommendation of a good friend who is an advanced birder. 

I could not be more pleased with the quality--bright, light, super fun to use! Great value. Coincidentally, he gave me a different pair (different brand) for Mother's Day--more expensive but not as good. 

I will recommend these to friends for sure.

Thursday, June 25, 2015

Meopta Meopro HD 20-60x80 Angled Spotting Scope


From Angelo B. in the U.S.:

5/5 Rating

A pleasure to use


The  with the MeoBright ion-assisted multi-coatings is the highest performing spotting scope I have ever used in the field.

The angled body and integrated 20-60x eyepiece along with the mid-body focus control made it a pleasure to use for easy and fast focus in the field, even with gloves on.
 
The imagery is crystal clear from edge to edge making it easy to assess game at long distances and a must for hunters, bird watchers or scientific study.