Saturday, November 22, 2014

Vortex Viper 8x28 Binocular

From Robert in Columbus, OH:

4/5 Rating

Go Anywhere Bino


I use these binoculars when I'm on a long hike, kayak fishing, or photographing birds and other wildlife.

While not quite comparable to a good pair of 8x42s, they are easy to focus, are very sharp, have reasonable close focus for butterflies and such, work well with glasses, and perform much better than the real little guys while not being too bulky.

You don't mind having them with you all day, and they are ready when you need them.

Thursday, November 20, 2014

Eagle Optics Denali 8x42 Roof Prism Binocular

From David in Charleston, SC:

5/5 Rating

FANTASTIC - great bins for educating with!


As Director of an Environmental Education Program, I have purchased a large number of the over the past 6 years.They are worth every cent!

If you are an outdoor educator and want to improve your ornithology class for children or adults, I highly recommend that if you can afford these, buy them! The optics are great, and they are light-weight enough for young children to grasp easily.

Over the 6 years that we have had the initial 15 pairs, they have been used by countless 5th graders, and we even let 1st graders use them - although, please note that I wouldn't dream of doing that without using a full bino harness, to prevent drops.  In that time, I have only had to retire 1 pair for excessive scratches. These bins seem to shake off almost all abuse thrown at them.

We get naturalists bringing back bins to be cleaned that appear to have been thrown in the sand on our beach, and with a little TLC they look brand new. FANTASTIC!

Every single time I order from Eagle Optics, I have been incredibly impressed by their attention to detail, customer service and their products. Well Done!

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Vortex Diamondback 8x32 Binocular

From Jay in South Florida:

5/5 Rating

Great multi-purpose glass


I bought the with a number of factors in mind. Besides the quality specs and best in field warranty, I wanted a smaller glass that would work well in the field with my bird photography as well as for occasional theater use.

Because I was looking for a multi-purpose binocular, the 8x32 gives me a wide field of view, is not obstructive when carrying a tripod/camera setup, and doesn't draw attention at the opera.

I already had the and know that Vortex stands behind their product and customer. I recently had a small rubber protective ring fall off a competitor's glass and they wanted more than the price of this optic to fix it. That wouldn't happen with Vortex.

In sum, I believe this is a high quality product that serves me well when spotting birds at a distance and oboe players in the orchestra. For its small size, its a keeper.

Monday, November 17, 2014

Kowa YF 8x30 Binocular



From Johan N. in the U.S.:

4/4 Rating

 Perfect for my daughters


 I gave one of these to each of my daughters (9 and 11 years old) recently.

My daughters were very excited to have their own binoculars, and they have spent hours looking at backyard birds, the moon, fire trucks on a distant road, etc. 

I think 8x is about as high as you should go with kids--anything higher would be too hard to stabilize. These binoculars are very well built and come with a decent padded neck strap. I honestly know very little about optics but the image seems nice and sharp to me. 

The size works for my daughters' hands, but I probably wouldn't recommend it for children under 9 due to its size. The focus wheel is easy to turn and they quickly figured out how to get the image nice and sharp. 

The only real problem is that now my daughters have the best binoculars in the house...

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Vortex Viper HD 8x42 Binocular

From Sue in Clifton Park, NY:

5/5 Rating

Delighted


I use the mainly for birding. I like the clarity & brightness of the binocular. It is also lightweight.

Ordering was fast & easy and I received it within the designated time frame. I had the Viper binocular in time for my birding trip and was delighted to have it along!  Other birders in the group tried it and liked these over their current binoculars. Some indicated they were going to purchase one because of the items mentioned above (clarity, brightness & light weight).

I would recommend the to anyone.

Monday, November 10, 2014

Zeiss Victory 10x54 T* HT Binocular

From Mark in CA:

5/5 Rating

Top quality


I got to compare the Zeiss side by side with the various 42mm and 50mm models from Leica and Swarovski at a festival.  The had the brightest view and best resolution while looking at birds skulking in shadows.

Focus is extremely smooth and very precise.  They are only about 6oz. heavier than the 42mm models while offering superior dawn/twilight/shadow resolution.  Despite their size and weight, they're very comfortable for all-day birding with a bino harness. 

The only drawback is close focus isn't the best (approx 11 feet).  I would recommend these to anyone looking for a top quality 10x binocular.

Thursday, November 6, 2014

Kowa TSN 883 25-60x88 Angled Spotting Scope Package

From Lance T. in Kamuela, Hawaii:

5/5 Rating

Kowa is awesome!


I have been very impressed with my .  It's a beautiful high quality spotting scope. 

It's not too large or heavy to carry around.  I have really enjoyed my for shorebirds, waterbirds, and seabirds. 

It is excellent in low light conditions from 20x to 60x, such as after sunset while sea-watching. 

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Vanguard Endeavor ED 8x42 Binocular

From Mike H. in Grand Junction, CO:

5/5 Rating

Sparrows up Close


I do a lot of birding for wintering sparrows, which are often seen at short range in dense shrubbery.  I find my ideal for quick focusing on birds in the brush and being able to follow their movements.

The wide field of view and quick focusing wheel allows me to get on the small birds and hold them in focus.  I find the clarity excellent as I follow the birds through the branches and twigs at close range.

In addition, I like being able to lock the eye pieces in various positions, which allows me to put on my glasses and make notes, while still being able to focus on a bird that suddenly pops into view.

I find my to be ideal for short and mid-range birding and an excellent value for the money.